Biology and Biotechnology of Algae and Plants

Areas: Biology

The Group is organized in three research units, one of which operates in the Campus of Ravenna. It studies the biology of plants at all levels of organization, including algae (Scientific Sector BIO01, General Botany). Researchers in this Group investigate experimentally the structural and functional aspects of plant and algae organization, reproductive mechanisms, and responses to abiotic stress. They focus on the relationships between cytological/ultrastructural, histo-anatomical, morphological, and physiological/biochemical aspects. The Group is also involved in studies aimed at the development and application of biotechnological approaches, in particular, testing enzymatic methods to modify plant-derived food proteins and investigating bioactive plant- and alga-derived molecules. It also addresses topics relating to the environment and human health, in terms of phytoremediation, aerobiology, and phytoplankton diversity, as well as the recovery of specialized metabolites with biological activities.

Lines of research:

LS3_11 Tissue organisation and morphogenesis in animals and plants (including biophysical approaches)
LS9_5 Food sciences (including food technology, food safety, nutrition)
LS9_7 Environmental biotechnology (including bioindicators, bioremediation, biodegradation)
LS9_9 Marine biotechnology (including marine bioproducts, feed resources, genome mining)
LS9_4 Plant sciences (including crop production, plant breeding, agroecology, soil biology)

Stefano Del Duca (PO)

Group members
Stefania Biondi (PA)

Rossella Pistocchi (PA)

Elisabetta Verderio (PA)

Annalisa Tassoni (PA)

Iris Aloisi (RTDa)

Franca Guerrini (Adjunct Professor)

Laura Pezzolesi (RTDa)

Maura Ferri (RTDa)

Mirko Salinitro (PhD)

Chiara Suanno (PhD Student)

Stefania Monari (PhD Student)

Simona Corneti (Technician)

Mara Simonazzi (PhD Student)

Other members
Dott.ssa Paola De NuntiiS (Istituto di Scienze dell'Atmosfera e del Clima-CNR Bologna)
Delia Fernández-González (Dept. of Biodiversity and Environmental managment, University of León, Spain).
Dott. Giampiero Cai, Dipartimento di Scienze della vita, Università di Siena
Prof.ssa Ewa Sobieszczuk-Nowicka, (Department of Plant Physiology, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poznań, Poland)
Prof.ssa Karina B. Ruiz (Departamento Agricultura del Desierto, Universidad Arturo Prat (UNAP), Iquique, Chile)
Dott.ssa Francesca Rapparini, (Istituto di Bioeconomia, CNR-Bologna)
Dott. Janos Petrusan (German Institute of Food Technologies, Quakenbrück, Germania)
Dott.ssa Chiara Zurlini e Dott.ssa Angela Montanari (Stazione Sperimentale per l'Industria delle Conserve Alimentari, Parma)
Dott. Alessandro Alessandrini (Istituto dei beni Culturali, Bologna)
Dott. Stefano Sforza e Prof.ssa Tullia Tedeschi (Università di Parma, Dipartimento di Scienze degli Alimenti e del Farmaco, Parma)
Dott.ssa Carmela Dell’Aversano e Dott.ssa Luciana Tartaglione (Università di Napoli Federico II Napoli)
Dott.ssa Cecilia Totti e Dott. Fabio Rindi (Università Politecnica delle Marche)